Summer Games 2013 Recap by Amanda Church

Gossage_SOSG_2013_opening_ceremony_31-L

It is hard to put into words how great this year’s 2013 Summer Games at Harvard University were. Let’s start off with Friday. It was pouring rain when we first arrived but if you thought the rain was going to dampen our spirits you are wrong! This was my first time staying in the dorms at Summer Games. It was a lot of fun rooming with my best friend and head coach Tara Lonergan. It was also a lot of fun being with my teammates. Opening Ceremonies were awesome. My team and I really enjoyed watching the cheerleaders and our fellow athlete Nicole singing the National Anthem. I enjoyed hearing the Global Messengers and our CEO/President Mary Beth speak. I thought they did a great job.

 Saturday was the first day of competition. Over 2,000 athletes competed in 7 different sports at Summer Games. My team, the Easton All Star Tigers competed in Aquatics. We all did our very best and I could not have been any more proud of my teammates. All 7 Easton coaches were also very proud of us.

 I competed in the 25 meter breaststroke on Saturday. I won the Gold Medal in this race. I also competed in the 100 meter breaststroke on Sunday. I also won the Gold Medal, and had a great finish time of 2:15.28. Training three days a week really pays off! I was able to achieve my goal that I had set for myself this year, by qualifying for the 2014 National Games in New Jersey. I hope I can get selected to represent Team SOMA!

 The Dance on Saturday Night was awesome, everyone had a great time and the DJ was awesome. My favorite part was the Cupid Shuffle.

 All and all Summer Games 2013 was a big success. We had an awesome group of Law Enforcement Officers, who not only did the Torch Run, on Friday and the Cruiser Convoy on Saturday, but who also gave out Medals to all Special Olympics athletes on Saturday. I think that this is such an honor. We also had some service men and women give out medals as well. Our volunteers were awesome. I think the 2013 Summer Games were the best Summer Games we have ever had.

Leave a Reply

