See the ability

Special Olympics athlete and staff member Greggory Gallant.

Special Olympics athlete and staff member Greggory Gallant.

Special Olympics Massachusetts is an amazing organization that gives people with intellectual disabilities the ability to train and compete in sports. As an athlete I do a sport a season (volleyball in the spring, softball in the summer, soccer in the fall, and skiing in the winter.)

The Special Olympics is like a second family, built up of kids, adults and coaches. “Let me win. But if I cannot win, let me be brave in the attempt” is the athlete oath; meaning try your best and have no regrets.

Special Olympics events are social events for all athletes and a way for athletes to learn that they are not alone and that many people have similar issues.

Special Olympics is the biggest and fastest growing sports organization in the world. I’m so glad that I found this amazing organization. I love talking about this organization so much because it’s such an amazing experience. Special Olympics isn’t just a sport, it’s my life.

I’m proud with any medal or ribbon I get. When I don’t medal, it’s not about admitting defeat, it’s having the intention of getting better with another year under my belt.

It’s not the disability that describes a person, it’s their actions and abilities.

Sincerely,

Greggory Gallant

Special Olympics athlete and staff member.

Leave a Reply

