What Special Olympics means to me.

By Amanda Church

It is hard to put into words how much Special Olympics means to me. Special Olympics has given me a lot of special opportunities, that have changed my life. I have gotten the opportunity to compete in three different sports: basketball, swimming, and flag football. I also get the chance to go to competitions in different venues in all three sports I compete in. It is hard for me to pick my favorite venue, as I like to compete at all of them.

hof_churchI have also been given the opportunity to intern at the Special Olympics South Section office. I have been interning for almost eight years now. I answer the phones, write thank you notes to sponsors, donors, and volunteers who take the time to attend a Special Olympics event or donate money to Special Olympics Massachusetts. I also write articles such as this for the Special Olympics Massachusetts blog.

Aside from being an athlete and a intern for Special Olympics, I have been given the opportunity to be a Global Messenger, which allows me to travel and speak on behalf of this amazing organization — something I very much enjoy. Whether it is to get involved as a athlete, coach, volunteer, or just to learn more about the organization, I get to tell people from different places why Special Olympics means so much to me and my fellow athletes across the state of Massachusetts.

I am honored to have been inducted into the Special Olympics Massachusetts Hall of Fame. It is an honor to work for Special Olympics and I am very blessed to have such amazing people that have supported me throughout the years. Being a Special Olympics athlete is not just about trying to win gold, silver, or bronze medals, it is about learning the sport, leadership, teamwork, and good sportsmanship. It also makes you a better person when you show all of these things to not only your team, but to all the teams and families of Special Olympics Massachusetts. I encourage all families and friends that have a loved one with intellectual disabilities to contact Special Olympics Massachusetts. Once you get your loved one involved in this incredible organization, you will be amazed at how fast he or she will be making new friends, and seeing the smile on their faces as they compete. They will want to continue to train and compete and try their very best to reach their goals in life.

Special Olympics has helped me achieve many of my goals already, and for that I am very thankful. Special Olympics has changed not only my life, but my family’s as well. We are truly blessed to be apart of Special Olympics, and we will continue to support it for many years to come.

Leave a Reply

