Meet Boston Marathon Runner Allie Tearney

Welcome, to Allie Tearney one of our youngest members of the Special Olympics Boston Marathon team. Allie started her career in high school running short races. As a freshman at Vanderbilt University, she tearneystepped it up by racing in half marathons. Last April, as a sophomore in college, she reached the pinnacle of her running career by finishing her first marathon, the Nashville Rock and Roll Marathon in Nashville, TN. But that was not enough. A native of the Boston area, Allie wanted to bring her talents home. “The Boston Marathon is something that has always been close to my heart. I watched it growing up. After the Marathon bombing I promised myself that I would run it on behalf of those who are not able to run themselves.” So running 26.2 miles for Special Olympics athletes was the motivation she was looking for.

Why run for Special Olympics Massachusetts? Allie’s relationship with Special Olympics began when a family member, who has autism, became an athlete in another state. Because of him she wanted to get involved here in Massachusetts. Her first season she worked one-on-one with an athlete playing basketball. She was hooked. “Honestly, Special tearney2Olympics Massachusetts means everything to me. I have been lucky enough to be involved with the organization as a volunteer, coach, and intern for almost 5 years. Now junior in college, majoring in Special Education, I have chosen to devote my life to this population primarily because of my experience at Special Olympics. I could not thank you enough for greatly influencing and changing my life in such a wonderful way.”

Training this time around has been a little easier for Allie. “I am following a plan that I really enjoy. I’m more in shape and better prepared than I was for my first marathon.” What keeps Allie moving during her grueling training runs, is her love for the athletes of Special Olympics Massachusetts. They follow the same motto that she does in life, “Let me win. But if I cannot win, let me be brave in the attempt.” Here’s to Allie Tearney and let’s hope all our well wishes help push her over the finish line!

Support Allie Tearney’s Boston Marathon fundraising efforts TODAY!

 

Leave a Reply

